Fantastic Stories!

Bern Kelly tells ‘Fantastic Stories!’ on noir-inspired new album

Nashville songwriter Bern Kelly is set to release his latest album: Fantastic Stories! (June 25th via Underpass Records). This release compiles the singles from Kelly’s pulp-noir and short story inspired monthly singles series that ran from September 2020 to April of this year (as featured on Songpickr’s “Indie Discovery”). The collection includes all eight of the monthly singles as well as a ninth and final song: “Losing Light.” This is also the first new music from Kelly since 2017’s acclaimed album Lost Films (“Instant Classic…9/10,”- Glide Magazine; “Cinematic…an inviting voice that will draw your ear in”- No Depression)

The songs were written and produced by Kelly over the past year and feature Ben Dumas (The Wild Feathers) on drums and Travis Vance (Thomas Rhett) on bass and synth. The album and monthly single artwork were designed by filmmaker and designer Jordan Noel (This World Alone).

“Fantastic Stories! finds characters toeing the line of right and wrong in the back alleys of their own lives” says Kelly. “These narratives play out as short stories and include some questionable deeds…both tangible and impalpable. I released each song as a single to focus on the story aspect of each. I wanted to give them their own world for which the listener could delve into. They touch on everything from murder and larceny, to the mysteries of love, with even over-gentrification and ghosts. Hopefully, all while feeling very relatable…..very human.”

Fantastic Stories! will be available on all digital outlets on June 25, 2021.

Track Listing:
1. Tina Walks into the Hardware Store
2. 5 to 10
3. It’s 1988
4. Arcadia
5. Adelaide
6. When Condos Attack
7. Hudson Street Taxidermy
8. Estate Sale Blues
9. Losing Light

Written, Performed, Produced, Engineered, and Mixed by: Bern Kelly
Drum Set: Ben Dumas
Bass Guitar/Synths: Travis Vance
Mastering: Patrick Damphier
Artwork: Jordan Noel
Photography: Michael Butcher

Comments are closed.